The Mackerras Medal

About the award


The Society’s award for excellence in entomology at mid career will be the Ian Mackerras Medal and is given every two years (even years) to a member of the Society who is judged by the Board as being mid career and who has demonstrated excellence in entomology over many years.

The award is named in honour of Dr Ian Mackerras, the Society’s first President and an entomologist who embodied the excellence in entomological pursuits that the award recognises.




To nominate a person for this award, please provide the following information by 31 July of an award year:

  1. Full name and current position of the nominee.
  2. Full name(s) and contact details of the nominator(s)
  3. In no more than two pages, provide details of the nominee's contribution to entomology which you believe qualifies him/her for this prestigious award.
  4. Add details of the nominee's contribution towards the AES and entomological community in Australia generally.
  5. There is an expectation that the successful nominee will attend the next AES conference for the medal presentation and will deliver a keynote address. An abstract for the latter should accompany the nomination.
  6. Developing the keynote address into a review paper for Austral Entomology is encouraged.

Send your nomination to with it clearly marked as a Nomination for the Mackerras Medal.



Past recipients 

2016   Dr Martin Steinbauer
2014    Prof. Tony Clarke
2012    Dr Michael Braby
2010       Professor Scott O'Neill
2008    Dr David Yeates
2004    Prof. A. Hoffmann
2002    Dr G.P. Fitt
2000    Dr P.G. Allsopp
1996    Dr M.P. Zalucki
1992    Dr E.S. Nielsen
1990    Dr R.A.I. Drew
1988    Dr T.R. New
1986    Dr R.W. Sutherst
1984   Dr J.A.L. Watson

New Document
Award Winners Gallery