The Phil Carne Prize

About the award


    The Society’s Phil Carne Prize is aimed at fostering high quality entomological research in young scientists. The name of the prize celebrates contributions made by Dr Phil Carne to the science of entomology and the Australian Entomological Society.

The prize is a certificate and also includes cash remuneration to the value of $1500. Finalists in the competition are selected by assessment of the submitted entries and all finalists are invited to present their papers at the Society’s Annual General Meeting and Scientific Conference. A maximum of $1000 for each finalist will be provided towards conference expenses (registration, travel, accommodation) on receipts. The finalist presentations will be assessed and a Phil Carne Prize winner selected.

The following is a note on past recipients: from 1986 to 1989, the prize was known as the ‘AES Student Award for Outstanding Research’. Geoff Allen, Kate Mossop and Ross Lardner were awarded the prize under that name. Prior to 1986, it was known simply as the ‘AES Student Award’. In 1990, it became the Phil Carne Prize. 

Who’s eligible 


The prize is open to any honours or postgraduate student enrolled in an Australian University, either full-time or part-time, who has not submitted their thesis by the closing date.

Entrants have to be members of the Australian Entomological Society.

How to enter


Entries for the prize should be in the form of a scientific paper that deals with research on any entomological topic (or allied group of terrestrial organisms such as mites or spiders). The paper can be in the form of a scientific manuscript ready for publication, a paper that has been accepted for publication or a paper published since the beginning of the previous year to the closing date, but must result from the student’s higher degree studies.

Entries are to be the sole work of the entrant, apart from the normally accepted input of academic supervisors, and are to be based on work undertaken while enrolled as a student. A committee of an least three people, to be appointed by the Society's President, will judge the overall scientific merit of each entry and a list of finalists selected. The finalists will be supported to attend the Society's conference in that year to present their paper and the presentation will form part of the assessment of the winner.

Submitting your entry

Download application

Please send a pdf of the paper and a scanned copy of the completed application form to no later than the 31 st of July each year.

Past Recipients







  Isobel Ronai 
  University of Sydney
2015   Thomas White   Macquarie University 
2014    Nicholas Fountain-Jones    University of Tasmania 
2013    Scott Fabricant    Macquarie University 
2012   Matthew Hill   University of Melbourne, Melbourne, VIC
2011   Melanie Schneemilch   University of South Australia, Adelaide, SA
2009    Kylie Anderson             James Cook University, Cairns, Qld
2008    Katherine Barry   Macquarie University, Sydney, NSW
2007    Sagrario Gamez-Virues   University of Sydney, Orange, NSW
2006    Birgit Löcker   University of Sydney, Orange, NSW
2005    Rod Eastwood   Griffith University, Qld
2003    Michelle Schiffer   La Trobe University, Vic
2002    Paul Grundy   South Australia
2001    Darrell J. Kemp   James Cook University, Cairns, Queensland
2000    Shaun Winterton   University of Queensland
1998    Martin Steinbauer   University of Tasmania, Hobart
1996    Lindsay Baggen   University of Sydney, Orange, NSW
1995    Bijan Hatami   University of Adelaide, South Australia
1994    Stuart Simmons   Curtin University, Western Australia
1993    Gary Taylor   University of Adelaide, South Australia
1992    Ann Scougall   Curtin University, Western Australia
1991    Scott Field   University of Adelaide, South Australia
1990    Tim Heard   Indooroopilly, Queensland
1989    Geoff Allen   University of Adelaide, South Australia
1988    Kate Mossop   Canberra
1987    Ross Lardner   South Australia
1984    David Raftos   NSW
1981    Anne Wagner   NSW
1979    Tony Molyneux   Brookfield, Queensland
1977    Mrs J.A. Smith   Queenstown, Tasmania
1976    Mr C. Haller   North Baldwyn, Victoria
1975    Anne C. Frodsham   University of Sydney
1972    Mr D.J. Rogers (undergraduate)    University of Queensland 
    Mr J.E.N. Veron (postgraduate)    University of New England 
(Two awards were made in 1972 to support students attending the 1972 International Congress in Canberra) 
1971    Peter Allsopp   University of Queensland